Celtic Whisky Distillerie : Unique French Whiskies

Founded in 1997, Celtic Whisky Distillerie is an artisanal distillery in Northern Brittany, located in the Côtes-d’Armor Department, in the commune of Pleubian. This pioneer of French whisky has quickly distinguished itself, among the fifty or so distilleries in France. The traditional distillation and ageing techniques, as well as the location in Brittany, offer ideal conditions for the production of exceptional malted barley whiskies.

Discover our Range of Whiskies
Celtic Whisky Distillerie
Dessin Celtic Whisky Distillerie

Celtic Whisky Distillerie

A strong Celtic identity, between land and sea.

Located at the end of the “Sauvage” Peninsula in the Trégor region, Celtic Whisky Distillerie enjoys an exceptional setting that gives it no reason to envy its Celtic cousins in Ireland or Scotland.

This ideal location is great for taking beautiful photos, and it is also particularly well suited for the production of authentic whisky. The famous beverage, for which the Scots and the Irish dispute the paternity, is best matured in a temperate oceanic climate that has mild temperatures throughout the year and a high level of humidity.

Spirits are strongly influenced by the environment. The humidity gives the whisky more roundness and softens the heat of the spirit. “Born by fire and bred by the wind”, the whiskies of Celtic Whisky Distillerie benefit from the four elements. They owe their quality both to the marine environment and to the centuries-old identity of a Celtic land.

 

 

 

 

 

Visit our shop.

THERE’S NO BETTER PLACE THAN CELTIC WHISKY DISTILLERIE TO EXPERIENCE CELTIC WHISKIES AND DISCOVER THEIR AUTHENTICITY!

In Larmor-Pleubian in the Côtes-d’Armor, Celtic Whisky Distillerie welcomes fans of premium whiskies and exceptional French products to its shop, which is located near the distillery. Don’t expect to walk into an ordinary shop! You will discover the history and values promoted by an enthusiastic team.

IMMERSED IN AN EXCEPTIONAL LOCATION FULL OF HISTORY AND TRADITION

Although Brittany has many tourist sites that are extremely popular when the weather is fine, it is also full of authentic havens of tranquillity. This is the case with the “Sauvage” Peninsula, where the Celtic Whisky Distillerie was established over 20 years ago. Martine and Jean Donnay, the founders of this French distillery in North Brittany, were attracted by the exceptional site with its ideal oceanic climate for the patient maturation of great Celtic whiskies. They chose to set up their distillery in the farm buildings built in 1668, where the walls are steeped in Celtic legends and Breton traditions.

VALUES AND CRAFTSMANSHIP: THE DNA OF CELTIC WHISKY DISTILLERIE

During your visit, the Celtic Whisky Distillerie team will show you the distinctive characteristics that separate these whiskies from other products on the market. The distillery makes no compromises when it comes to respecting the traditional Celtic methods of production. The two small pot stills are heated over an open flame. Industrial shortcuts that detract from the authenticity of the product are deliberately avoided. Celtic Whisky Distillerie’s single malts are not cold filtered or artificially coloured before bottling. An on-site tasting will convince you of the excellence of the distillery’s single malts, Kornog and Glann Ar Mor.

Celtic Whisky Distillerie Bretagne

French-Style Quality and Authenticity

Natural elements are important, but so are knowledge and a human touch.

Celtic Whisky Distillerie’s approach is based on an uncompromising respect for tradition. The 17th-century farmhouse, which houses the distillery, contains all the equipment necessary for the production of a great whisky in accordance with the customs of the art.

The stills are heated over an open flame for slow distillation. Wooden fermenters (made from Oregon pine) are also used, which, thanks to their indigenous yeasts, provide greater complexity than stainless steel fermenters.

Similarly, the use of copper serpentine condensers gives a richer texture and greater aromatic richness. Finally, the spirit is aged in Bourbon barrels by the sea. Thus, the emphasis is placed on quality, taking advantage of an exceptional environment and artisanal know-how, as opposed to industrialisation and more modern methods.

Whiskies Carried by the Wind

Throughout time, the wind has carried sailors to distant horizons. If they discovered new plants or spices, they were able to use their knowledge to process, transform and distil them.

Charmed by the Glann Ar Mor and Kornog whiskies, Maison Villevert decided to embark on a new adventure by acquiring Celtic Whisky Distillerie in June 2020.

A newcomer to the world of whisky, Maison Villevert is already a leader in the world of exceptional spirits, notably with its G’Vine range of grape-based gins. The brand wishes to follow in the footsteps of the founders of the distillery, Martine and Jean Donnay, and preserve the soul and character of these whiskies. To achieve this, Jean-Sébastien Robicquet, Director of Maison Villevert, has surrounded himself with passionate people, such as Master Distiller, Aël Guégan, to preserve the excellence and Celtic identity of the brand.

Know-How
Celtic Whisky Distillerie Maison Villevert

Alcohol abuse is dangerous to your health. consume in moderation.

I certify that I am of legal drinking age to access this site:

Yes No

ALCOHOL ABUSE IS DANGEROUS TO YOUR HEALTH. CONSUME IN MODERATION.

Celtic Whisky Distillerie : des whiskies Français uniques

Fondée en 1997, Celtic Whisky Distillerie est une distillerie artisanale du nord Bretagne localisée dans le département des Côtes-d’Armor, sur le territoire de la commune de Pleubian. Ce pionnier du whisky français s’est rapidement distingué, parmi la cinquantaine de distilleries présentes dans l’hexagone. Les techniques traditionnelles de distillation et de vieillissement, ainsi que la localisation en terre bretonne, offrent des conditions idéales pour l’élaboration de whiskies d’orge maltée d’exception.

Découvrez notre gamme de whiskies
Celtic Whisky Distillerie
Dessin Celtic Whisky Distillerie

Celtic Whisky Distillerie

Une identité celte affirmée, entre terre et mer

Implantée à l’extrémité de la presqu’île « Sauvage » dans la région du Trégor, Celtic Whisky Distillerie jouit d’un cadre exceptionnel qui n’a rien à envier à ses cousines celtes d’Irlande ou d’Écosse.

Si cette situation idéale permet de faire de belles photos, elle est également particulièrement bien adaptée pour l’élaboration d’un whisky authentique. Le célèbre breuvage, dont Écossais et Irlandais se disputent la paternité, connaît une maturation optimale sous un climat tempéré de type océanique marqué par des températures douces tout au long de l’année et un fort taux d’humidité.

Les eaux-de-vie sont, en effet, fortement influencées par le milieu ambiant. Pour sa part, l’humidité donne plus de rondeur au whisky et tempère le feu de l’eau-de-vie. « Nés par le feu et élevés par le vent », les whiskies de Celtic Whisky Distillerie profitent des quatre éléments. Ils doivent leur qualité, tant à l’environnement marin qu’à l’identité multiséculaire d’une terre celte.

Visitez notre boutique

Quel meilleur endroit que Celtic Whisky Distillerie pour vivre l’expérience des whiskys celtes et découvrir leur authenticité !

À Larmor-Pleubian dans les Côtes-d’Armor, Celtic Whisky Distillerie accueille les amateurs de whiskys premiums et de produits français d’exception, dans sa boutique qui se trouve à proximité de la distillerie. Ne vous attendez pas à pénétrer dans une boutique ordinaire. Vous y découvrirez une histoire et des valeurs portées par une équipe enthousiaste.

En immersion dans un lieu d’exception chargé d’histoire et de traditions

Si la Bretagne compte de nombreux sites touristiques très fréquentés dès l’arrivée des beaux jours, elle regorge également d’endroits authentiques qui sont autant de havres de paix. C’est le cas de la presqu’île « Sauvage » au bout de laquelle s’est installée Celtic Whisky Distillerie, il y a plus de 20 ans. Martine et Jean Donnay, les fondateurs de la distillerie française de Bretagne Nord, se sont laissé séduire par ce site exceptionnel exposé à un climat océanique idéal pour l’élevage patient de grands whiskys celtiques. Ils ont fait le choix d’installer leur distillerie dans les bâtiments d’une ferme construite en 1668, dont les murs sont imprégnés de légendes celtes et de traditions bretonnes.

Valeurs et fabrication artisanale : l’ADN de Celtic Whisky Distillerie

Lors de votre visite, l’équipe de Celtic Whisky Distillerie saura vous faire toucher du doigt les spécificités qui différencient ses whiskys d’autres produits présents sur le marché. Ainsi, la distillerie ne fait aucune concession sur le respect de méthodes de fabrication artisanale rappelant la tradition celte. Les deux petits alambics « Pot Still » sont chauffés à flamme nue. Les raccourcis industriels qui nuisent à l’authenticité du produit sont systématiquement écartés. Les singles malts de Celtic Whisky Distillerie ne font, en effet, pas l’objet d’une filtration à froid ni d’une coloration artificielle avant embouteillage. Une dégustation sur place finira de vous convaincre de l’excellence des singles malts de la distillerie, Kornog et Glann ar Mor.

Celtic Whisky Distillerie Bretagne

Le choix de la qualité et de l’authenticité à la française

Si les éléments naturels sont importants, la main de l’homme et son savoir-faire le sont tout autant.

La démarche de Celtic Whisky Distillerie répond à une éthique sans concession basée sur le respect de la tradition. La ferme du 17e siècle qui abrite la distillerie concentre en son sein, tous les équipements nécessaires à la fabrication d’un grand whisky dans les règles de l’art.

Les alambics sont chauffés à flamme nue pour une distillation lente. Sont également mobilisés des fermenteurs en bois (pin d’Oregon) qui, grâce à leurs levures indigènes, apportent une plus grande complexité que les fermenteurs en inox.

De même, l’utilisation de condenseurs serpentins en cuivre permet d’obtenir une texture plus riche et une plus grande richesse aromatique. Enfin, l’élevage est réalisé dans des fûts de Bourbon et en bord de mer. Ainsi, l’accent se trouve résolument porté sur la qualité, en profitant d’un environnement exceptionnel et d’un savoir-faire artisanal tournant le dos au productivisme des méthodes plus modernes.

Des whiskies portés par le vent

À travers le temps, le vent a porté les marins vers des horizons lointains. Si ces derniers ont découvert de nouvelles plantes ou épices, ils ont su conserver leur esprit et leur savoir-faire pour les travailler, les transformer et les distiller.

Séduite par les whiskies Glann Ar Mor et Kornog, Maison Villevert a décidé de se lancer dans une nouvelle aventure, en faisant l’acquisition de Celtic Whisky Distillerie en juin 2020.

Nouvelle venue dans le monde du whisky, Maison Villevert fait déjà figure de référence dans l’univers des spiritueux d’exception, notamment avec ses gins à base de raisin de la gamme G’Vine. Elle souhaite s’inscrire dans les pas des fondateurs de la distillerie Martine et Jean Donnay, et préserver ce qui fait l’âme et le caractère de ces whiskys. Pour cela, Jean-Sébastien Robicquet, directeur de Maison Villevert, s’est entouré de personnes passionnées comme Aël Guégan, maître distillateur, pour perpétuer l’excellence et l’identité celtique de la marque.

Celtic Whisky Distillerie Maison Villevert

L'abus d'alcool est dangereux pour la santé. A consommer avec modération.

Je certifie avoir l'âge légal pour la consommation d'alcool pour pouvoir accéder à ce site

Oui Non

L’ABUS D’ALCOOL EST DANGEREUX POUR LA SANTÉ. À CONSOMMER AVEC MODÉRATION.